TR Power Stacking (Edited 11-24)

 

There is a lot of confusion as to the efficacy of several of the feats and powers I chose to use in this build, so I’m going to try to clear up some of the confusion regarding how to effectively use Impossible to Catch (press the advantage), Whirlwind of Blades, and the Shadowborn feat to buff your power to great heights against groups of 5 or more.

When you run this rotation, your Character, more or less, looks like this:

image

Only, you know, with daggers.  The tiny head can be intimidating.

There are a couple of points we have to get through, though, to understand how this rotation works optimally.

1) the Shadowborn feat increases your BASE power by 100%, not your power after it’s been buffed by bondings, brutal rings, etc.

2) The Press the Advantage feat buffs your BUFFED power by 10% when you use ITC.

3) Whirlwind of Blades increases your BUFFED power by 100% (assuming you hit 5 targets) and keeps that power for 10 seconds (even if, like Press the Advantage, the original buff goes away when ITC stops.  However, with Shadowborn, it also keeps the original Shadowborn buff alive for that 10 seconds, as well.  However, the Shadowborn buff is not doubled with the rest of your buffs.

4) If you use Impossible to Catch in stealth, you will kill the Shadowborn buff.  I guess it counts as an “attack”, so it procs Shadowborn, even though ITC doesn’t do any damage itself.

The Maths:

image

Let’s assume a base power of 30,000, and buffs from bondings, rings, etc, of 20,000.

You are running through Castle Never and are facing a bunch of zombies.

Starting power= 30,000

You run into combat proccing your bondings, etc. (+20,000 power)

Power= 50,000

The first thing you do is stealth (+base power= +30,000 power),

Power= 80,000

run into the middle of them and pop your Whirlwind of blades (buffed power * 2+ Shadowborn = 50,000 * 2 + 80,000)

Power= 130,000 (this power lasts for 10 seconds)

You immediately use dazing strike to take advantage of the stealth (for a bunch of damage in a cone) and then use Impossible to Catch to keep the zombies you just hit from killing you and proc Press the advantage (+buffed power *10%= +13,000, which lasts only as long as ITC or about 5 seconds)

Power= 146,000

I then, typically, use Smoke Bomb, which at 90% crit rate, will mostly crit even out of stealth, as well as provide some control.  Of course, all of this doesn’t include the various damage buffs, combat advantage damage, crit severity, etc, which you can read about in my build.

image

Like this, but in, like, two hits.

Here’s a helpful picture of my power.  This is by myself.

power-stacking

Note:  if you hit 4 enemies with whirlwind, the end power (in this example) drops to 132,000.  Three goes to 121,000.  Two, 110,000.  Personally, I wouldn’t use this rotation on groups smaller than 3.  Even with three, it is a toss up between whirlwind and Lurker’s Assault.

With this rotation against mobs, it is often better to run with the DC Sigil to get your daily back asap.  You can rinse and repeat this devastating attack every time your daily comes back.  It also becomes very handy against very powerful mobs like those found in Fangbreaker’s Island.

Now, TRs, go out there and represent!

 

17 thoughts on “TR Power Stacking (Edited 11-24)

  1. “wouldn’t use this rotation on groups smaller than 3.” Why ?

    Lurker’s Assult givs 30% bonus damage (1% – 400 power, 30% – 12k power,
    ~62k power)

    If i hit ‘Whirlwind of Blades’ 2 enemies givs 40% power (50k + 40% = 70k power)

    70k>~62k

    Correctly?

    Like

    1. I’m still doing some testing. I know that Lurker’s Assault does more damage, I just haven’t figured out why, yet. My testing tonight shows that, unless you can hit 4 enemies, you are better off with Lurker’s. I’ll be posting on this in the next several days once I figure it out. Thanks for the question!

      Like

  2. “Personally, I wouldn’t use this rotation on groups smaller than 3.” Why?

    Luker’s Assault givs 30% damage bonus (1% – 400 power, 30% – 12k power, so ~62k power)

    if ‘Whirlwind of Blades’ hits 2 enemies givs 40% power (50k +40% = 70k)

    70k > ~62k

    Correct ?

    Like

    1. I’m still doing some testing. I know that Lurker’s Assault does more damage, I just haven’t figured out why, yet. My testing tonight shows that, unless you can hit 4 enemies, you are better off with Lurker’s. I’ll be posting on this in the next several days once I figure it out. Thanks for the question!

      Like

  3. Great guide! Have a few questions. Was wondering how you got 28 points in both dexterity and strength. The pic of the points here is different than the one on the guide.

    Instead of running the fire archon for summoned companion, would using a mercenary greatly affect my damage output, because of the set bonus?

    Since ITC is not used as often anymore, did you replace the feat “press the advantage”?

    Thanks for your input!

    Like

    1. Hmmmm, I’m not sure. I need to update the build on mmominds for sure. Maybe I was near a campfire or in the stronghold? Or maybe I made a mistake and had a potion buff on? I’m out of pocket right now, but I’ll check and get back to you. Thanks!
      I don’t like the mercenary as much for a couple of reasons. First being since the fire archon is ranged, it tends to not die as much. Second, the active bonus for the mercinary is terrible compared to the fire archon.
      I did briefly swap out the press the advantage for the deflect feat that adds 2.5% deflect. But, I found that, in certain dungeons, ITC was still a really good option to slot. MSVA is a good example. So, I put the points back into PTA for those times I needed it. I haven’t missed the 2.5% deflection at all. Plus, with the types of groups you have to run MSVA with, you have an uptime of ITC of at least 60-70%.
      Hope this helps!

      Like

Leave a Reply

